Thursday, May 12, 2011

Rules Question

I had this come up the other day. Let's see how you would rule it.

Runners on 1st and 2nd, one out. The pitcher steps off the rubber and throws the ball to first in an attempt to pick off the runner. THe ball goes over the first basemens head and goes out of play. Where to the runners go?


  1. Two bases time of throw. When F1 stepped off, he became an infielder.

  2. This is something that when I call it in a game, ALWAYS causes a discussion. Coaches don't agree with me but the ruling is two bases from the time of the throw. Once the pitch (F1) stepped off the rubber he become an infielder.