Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Rules Questions

Ok, you all better get these right.

The other night, I have both of these happen and the coahces actually argued with me, I was amazed so I am putting on here to prove to myself that some people at least know the rules. Don't let me down.

Runner on second, 1 out. The Batter hits a line drive that is caught by the SS. The Runner is caught WAY off the base. The SS turns and fires the ball to second base but throws it high. The second baseman jumps, catches the ball and falls down on his back right on top of the base before the runner gets back. He never steps on the base or puts his glove on the base. What's the call?

Runner on second, 1 out. The batter hits a ground ball to the SS who runs right at the runner who is caught off 2nd. He has the ball in his throwning hand and tags the runner with his glove. What's the call?


  1. Sit 1: As long as he touches the base before the runner does, the runner's out.

    Sit 2: Safe.

  2. That's right. I have to tell you, I have had situation 2 happen on two consecutive nights and it is just amazing the coaches argue that.