Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Rules Question

Runners on 1st and 2nd, 1 out. The batter hits a fly ball to deep right field. Runners on 2nd and 3rd tag up and move up one base. The ball goes back to the pitcher who steps on the rubber and then steps off and appeals the runner leaving early at second. The umpire calls the runner out of leaving early for the third out. Does the run score?


  1. You say R1 and R2, then R2 and R3. I'll assume you meant R2 and R3.

    Run does count. Appeals are time plays and the appeal wasn't on a force play, so run counts.

  2. Yes you are right..sorry about the typo...doing this at work sometimes causes those.