Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Is it Infield Fly

Here is a rules question that I use on my rookies every year.

1 out, runners on first and second. Batter hits a high fly ball to short left field (we will say about 20 feet outside the infield). The shortstop is camped under it but for some reason the left fielder calls him off and makes the catch. Whats the call?


  1. I think the answer you are looking for is "Infield Fly!". Reasoning being that it should be called if an infielder could have caught the ball with ordinary effort. Doesn't matter if he actually does, or whether the ball is in the outfield.
    But what I always told my players when I coached, and tell coaches when I ump and they question it, is that it's an Infield Fly if I call it, and it's not if I don't. There is a judgement factor, so even if the shortstop is camped under it, if for whatever reason you think it might not be an ordinary catch (sun in the eyes, extremely windy day or whatever), you have the option to NOT call it an infield fly.
    Complete primer on IF here:

  2. Couldn't have said it better myself.