Wednesday, September 29, 2010

What's the call

Batter hits a line drive up the middle. It hits the pitching rubber and bounces into foul territory before it passes a base. It then is touched by the third basemne in foul territory. Is this a fair or foul ball?


  1. Foul! It went foul before passing 1st or 3rd and did not touch a base. Hitting the pitching rubber is no different than hitting a pebble and going foul.

  2. Correct Ruben. This is a common mistake made by younger umpires. They consider a ball hitting the pitching rubber the same as the ball hitting a base. It is not. The pitching rubber is considered to be part of the ground, like a rock.