Monday, September 27, 2010

Question of the Day

Runners on first and second, no body out. Batter hits a fly ball to short left field. THe Shortstop is able to get under the ball easily and makes the catch on the outfield grass behind short. Can this be considered an infield fly?


  1. yes. Come on Mark, give us a challenge!!

  2. Duh. As long as the infielder has an easy play on the ball the rule still applies.

  3. Ok, I'll make the next one harder. I only ask because a couple nights ago I was working a game and the exact situation occured and not only did BOTH coaches think I was wrong, the other umpire tried to overrule me. I was under the impression that everyone knew this rule but after that, I wanted to make sure.