Friday, June 24, 2011

You make the call

This happened the other night in a game I was working. Let's see how you would have ruled.

Runner on first. The pitcher comes set and the runner leaves early. Without stepping off, the pitcher spins and throws to second to make the play on the runner. Is this a balk for throwing to an unoccupied base?

You make the call.


  1. Depends on the rule code and whether or not the runner continued going to 2B.

  2. It's not a balk. According to the NFHS rule book, the pitcher can throw to the base the runner is at, or the base he is advancing towards.

    Out of curiosity, how did you call the play?

  3. I ruled the runner out at second. Which started a huge argument where the coach wanted the balk called. I tried to explain that if the pitcher is making a play, it's not a balk. He didn't believe me and pulled out his rulebook and asked me to show it to him. I told him that I wasn't going to stop the game but that if he read through the pitcher section he would see it in there.

    About an inning later, he appolgized. It was great.

  4. Lol, I love when the coaches freak out when they don't know a rule, then come back and have to admit they are wrong. Good thing he actually had his rule book too - most of them don't.