Friday, February 17, 2012

Answer to Yesterdays Rules Question

The question was:

Runner on 3rd. Batter hits a routine pop up to the third basemen that hits the runner on third while he is standing on the base. What's the call??!

Read rule 7.08 (f), it reads that the runner is out if hit by a batter ball unless it has been deflected by a fielder of has has passed the infielder and no other infielders have a play on it.

The base is NOT a safe haven. If it is a pop up and not infield fly, the fielder has the right to the ball and if it hits the runner in fair territory while standing on the base, the runner is out. It is is an infield fly situation and this happens, the batter has already been declared out so the runner is safe.

No comments:

Post a Comment